Cricket NewsIPL

Kane Williamson, Trent Boult Among NZ Cricketers To Miss IPL 2021 If Staged in September: Reports

The BCCI is planning to host the remainder of IPL 2021 in September. the board is also looking out for a venue apart from India to host the remainder of the season as well. Meanwhile, as per reports in Insidesport, Kiwi cricketers Kane Williamson, Trent Boult amongst others will miss the remainder of the season owing to national commitments if it is hosted in September.

New Zealand are scheduled to face Pakistan in a bilateral series in UAE during the same time. The majority of IPL-bound players weren’t selected in NZ’s squad for the series against Bangladesh. But they might not be allowed to skip the Pakistan series due to a T20 World Cup scheduled to be played just next month.

The players will be available of the remainder of the season is hosted after the T20 World Cup. Also, by all means, BCCI will take at least a month to play out the remaining matches.

IPL 2021: New Zealand Players Unavailable For Remainder Of The Season

Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson was chosen as the skipper of Sunrisers Hyderabad midway through IPL 2021. David Warner is likely to regain captaincy if Williamson misses out. There was a lot of noise about the change in captaincy when Williamson was handed over the captaincy from Warner. Williamson lost his first game as SRH skipper against Chennai Super Kings.

Apart from him, Lockie Ferguson, Finn Allen, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Adam Mile, Jimmy Neesham and Kyle Jamieson are other Kiwis in IPL. Seifert, who had joined Kolkata Knight Riders in 2020, is in India as he tested positive for COVID-19.

Kane Williamson is now focused on playing the World T20 final against India in Southampton. The venue was shifted from Lord’s to Southampton over logistical issues. The final will be played between June 14-18.

Earlier the England & Wales Cricket Board announced that their players will be unavailable for the second half of the season owing to national commitments as well.

Also Read: Aakash Chopra Names 17-Member Squad For Sri Lanka Series


Anshuman Roy

A cricket and sports enthusiast having previously worked with Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint and now with Cricfit.
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker