Home Cricket News Ajay Jadeja And Ajit Agarkar Pick Their Indian Squad for the T20...

Ajay Jadeja And Ajit Agarkar Pick Their Indian Squad for the T20 World Cup 2021

Ajit Agarkar-Suryakumar Yadav
Ajit Agarkar . (Photo Credit: ESPN Cricinfo)

Ajit Agarkar and Ajay Jadeja have picked an Indian squad that they think is the best for the upcoming T20 World Cup. The duo is part of Sony’s broadcast for the ongoing Indian tour of Sri Lanka.

The mega ICC event for the year, 2021 T20 World Cup, will take place in October-November. It is scheduled to be played immediately after the IPL 2021. Although it’s still a few months away, the squad for the tournament is being debated day in day out. The latest people to do so are former Indian cricketers Ajit Agarkar and Ajay Jadeja.

For the top-order, they chose Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, and skipper Virat Kohli. Shaw flopped on his debut in the first T20I. But he is likely to be given the go-ahead in the remaining two matches. Vice-captain Rohit is established in most people’s teams. Karnataka batsman Rahul has been India’s best T20I player so he deserves a spot for the marquee event.

The middle-order was stacked with Mumbai Indians players Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and swashbuckling Delhi batsman Rishabh Pant. Pant was down with covid-19 recently but he has since recovered to join the Indian team in England. Suryakumar has been making heads turn in the Lankan series, looking at his fluent best more often than not.

No surprise picks in Ajit Agarkar and Ajay Jadeja’s bowling attack for India in the T20 World Cup

Bumrah Shami - Ajay Jadeja & Ajit Agarkar

Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya are the only all-rounders on the team. Hardik has been trying to find his rhythm in the Lankan series but he has had a torrid time so far. Nevertheless, he is a match-winner and won’t take long to get back into form.

As for the pacers, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami were instant picks, with Bhuvneshwar Kumar or Deepak Chahar being the third seamer option. Three specialist leg-spinners Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, and Varun Chakravarthy filled up the rest of the slots, considering the tournament is to be held in the UAE. There was no place for Krunal Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav, which comes as a surprise to some.

Ajit Agarkar and Ajay Jadeja’s Indian squad for the T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar/ Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.