Home Cricket News Angelo Mathews Is Removed From Sri Lanka’s 15-Man World Cup Qualifying Team

Angelo Mathews Is Removed From Sri Lanka’s 15-Man World Cup Qualifying Team

Angelo Mathews Is Removed From Sri Lanka’s 15-Man World Cup Qualifying Team

During the New Zealand tour earlier this year, Angel Mathews was called back up to the ODI team.

The all-rounder returned to the white-ball format, but he hasn’t had much of an impact with the bat.

Angelo Mathews was left off of Sri Lanka Cricket’s (15-member) squad for the ICC World Cup Qualifier match in Zimbabwe.

In the first ODI, which Sri Lanka lost by six wickets to Afghanistan. The 36-year-old managed scores of 18, 0, and 12, with the most recent one coming against that team.

In the qualifier, wicketkeeper-batter Sadeera Samarawickrama took Mathews’ place. He scored 44 against Afghanistan in the second ODI, kept his spot.

Although he was also called up for the ODI series against

Sri Lanka’s Test captain Dimuth Karunaratne has managed to maintain his position by scoring back-to-back fifties as Sri Lanka rallied to win the series 2-1.

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Karunaratne, and Samarawickrama are some of the batting options for Dasun Shanaka’s team.

Young sensation Matheesha Pathirana recently received his ODI cap, as a result of his outstanding performance for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2023.

In addition to Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, and Kasun Rajitha, Pathirana will be a part of the pace department.

The three all-rounders for Sri Lanka in the qualifier will be Shanaka, Chamika Karunaratne, and Wanindu Hasaranga.

Maheesh Theekshan and Dushan Hemantha will support Hasaranga in the spin unit. 

Due to their 10th-place finish in the World Cup Super League with 81 points, Sri Lanka lost out on the chance to receive direct qualification for the ICC ODI World Cup.

World Cup qualification for Sri Lanka will start on June 19

Sri Lanka is placed in Group B of the World Cup Qualifier alongside Ireland, Scotland, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Dasun Shanaka and Co. Will face UAE in their opening game on June 19 at Bulawayo’s Queens Sports Club.

Sri Lanka’s squad for the World Cup Qualifiers consists of Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (wk), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushan Hemantha, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana.

The World Cup of 2023, which is slated to take place in India during the months of October and November, will only have room for two of the ten participating teams from the qualifiers.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts