Home Cricket News Delhi Capitals Fast Bowler Anrich Nortje Records The Fastest Ball In IPL...

Delhi Capitals Fast Bowler Anrich Nortje Records The Fastest Ball In IPL History

Anrich Nortje
Anrich Nortje (Credit: BCCI)

Delhi Capitals fast bowler Anrich Norje was in full flow against Rajasthan Royals at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Defending 161 runs, Nortje was in a great rhythm and recorded the fastest ball in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL).


Chasing 162 runs, Rajasthan opener Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler got off to a flying start. They took on the new ball bowlers – Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje, who have done exceedingly well so far in the competition in the UAE. Meanwhile, the Proteas fast bowler bowled arguably the fastest over in the history of IPL.

Anrich Nortje records the fastest ball in IPL

It was the third over of Rajasthan Royals innings as Jos Buttler started with a six. Nortje clocked 148.2kph and backed it two 152+ deliveries. Nortje then delivered a 146.4 kph delivery which went to the boundary. Angered with the flow of runs, the tall and lanky fast bowler bowled the fastest ball in the history clocking 156.2 kph which was also dispatched to the boundary.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Shreyas Iyer Suffers A Nasty Shoulder Injury While Fielding

He backed it up with another 155+kph delivery to knock of Jos Buttler’s timber after going for back-to-back boundaries to draw first blood for Delhi Capitals.

Fastest Ball in the history of IPL:

1. Anrich Nortje – 156.2kmph.

2. Anrich Nortje – 154.8kmph.

3. Dale Steyn – 154.4kmph.

4. Anrich Nortje – 154kmph.

5. Kagiso Rabada – 153.9kmph.

Also Read: Watch – Jofra Archer Does Bihu After Knocking Prithvi Shaw

Meanwhile, Anrich Nortje has been hitting the right strides ever since he joined the franchise as a replacement of Chris Woakes. He has brought a lot to the table and has forged an outstanding partnership with Kagiso Rabada in IPL 2020. Both of them have played significant roles in Delhi Capitals outstanding run so far in IPL 2020.