Home Cricket News Australia Announce Updated Test Squad For The Last 2 Tests Against India 

Australia Announce Updated Test Squad For The Last 2 Tests Against India 

Australia Ashes squad
Credits: (Getty Images)

David Warner has finally been cleared to play the third Test against India. The star Aussie opener suffered a groin injury during the ODI series but Cricket Australia is now happy with his progress and has included him in the updated Test squad. Also, Joe Burns after his ordinary outing in the first two Tests has been dropped and will be now playing in the BBL.

Burns had scores of 8, 51*, 0 and 4 which is why the hosts have decided to drop him for the next Test. In his place, youngster Will Pucovski has been added to the squad who has was expected to play from the first Test but unfortunately suffered a concussion injury. 

David Warner Returns To Australia Test Squad 

Now both Warner and Pucovski are expected to be the opening combination for Australia going ahead in the Test series. They are expected to strengthen the batting of the hosts which has so far looked ordinary. Also, all-rounder Sean Abbott who was also on the injured list has gained and picked in the side for the last two Tests. 

“David Warner, Will Pucovski and Sean Abbott will rejoin the squad in Melbourne tomorrow evening in preparation for the Sydney Test”.

“David has made strong progress in his recovery from injury and will be given every chance to play in Sydney with another seven days until the match. Sean has fully recovered from a calf strain and is also available for selection”, National selector Trevor Hohns said as quoted by Cricket.com.au. 

Also Read: Australia vs India 2020: Tim Paine Finds Third-Umpiring Extremely Frustrating In MCG Test

Meanwhile, Australia will train in Melbourne on January 2 and 3 before moving to Sydney on January 4. The 4 match Test series is now levelled at 1-1 with the third Test to begin at Sydney from January 7. 

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Also Read: Sourav Ganguly Credits Ajinkya Rahane After India Draw Level At MCG