Home Cricket News BCCI Announce Captains For Women’s T20 Challenge

BCCI Announce Captains For Women’s T20 Challenge

BCCI Announce Captains For Women’s T20 Challenge
Captains of the respective teams in Women's T20 Challenge (Photo Credit: BCCI)

The Board of Control For Cricket In India (BCCI) has announced the captains for the Women’s T20 Challenge to be played between November 4 to 9. Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur and Mitahli Raj has been named as the captains of their respective teams. Mandhana, Kaur and Mithali Raj will be leading Supernovas, Trailblazers & Velocity, respectively, in the four-match tournament. This will be the third season of the Women’s T20 Challenge.

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly had promised to stage the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 and he has stood up to his promise.

“I can confirm to you that the women’s IPL is very much on and we do have a plan in place for the national team also,” Ganguly back in July.

BCCI Announce Captains For Women’s T20 Challenge

Meanwhile, the BCCI has also announced the vice-captains for the respective teams as well. Jemimah Rodrigues (Supernovas), Veda Krishnamurthy (Velocity) and Deepti Sharma (Trailblazers) have been chosen as the deputies to their captains.

Also Read: Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 – Details

Here is the complete squads and the schedule for Women’s T20 Challenge

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Jemimah Rodrigues (VC), Chamari Athapaththu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (WK), Shashikala Siriwardene, Poonam Yadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Ayushi Soni, Ayabonga Khaka, Muskan Malik

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (C), Deepti Sharma (VC), Punam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D. Hemalatha, Nuzhat Parween (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simaran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, Natthakan Chantham, Deandra Dottin, Kashvee Gautam

Velocity: Mithali Raj (C), Veda Krishnamurthy (VC), Shafali Verma, Sushma Verma (WK), Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, Sune Luus, Jahanara Alam, M. Anagha.


BCCI Announce Captains For Women's T20 Challenge
                                     Complete Schedule for Women’s T20 Challenge

As per reports in ESPNCricinfo, all the players will reach the UAE by the third week of October. They will be staying in the same hotel. Just like the IPL cricketers, the women cricketers will also undergo a six-day mandatory quarantine.

In the meantime, they will be tested on days one, three and five. After they clear all three tests, the players will be allowed to train for the games.

Meanwhile, the players will be given a stipulated amount of time to practice for the games as well. They will get a maximum of four practice sessions each team as per ESPNCricinfo. However, the schedule is for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 is yet to be announced.

The BCCI announced the IPL 2020 schedule only till the league stage earlier this month. The date of the final was announced too as November 10. The Indian cricket board is yet to announce the dates for the playoffs.

Also Read: Women’s T20 Challenge During IPL 2020 Is Very Much On – Sourav Ganguly

Latest Posts