Home Cricket News BCCI Announce India’s Test Squad For Australia Tour

BCCI Announce India’s Test Squad For Australia Tour

Pink-Ball Test Tim Paine-Virat Kohli
(Photo Credit: Getty Images)

The BCCI has announced the Indian Test squad for the four-match Test series against Australia. India tour Australia for a full -length tour. The first of the four Tests will be played in Adelaide from December 17 to 21. Melbourne will host the Boxing Day Test from December 26-30. Sydney will host the third (January 7-11) and Brisbane (January 15-19)the fourth and final Test match.

The limited-overs series will follow soon after. Speaking to the Sydney Morning Herald, Ganguly confirmed that Sydney has been made an initial part of India’s tour Down Under.

“So far it is ahead. The initial part will be in Sydney. We are still in discussions on how to get the bio part and medical parts stronger because it’s a long tour but I am told Australia is COVID free at the moment, there aren’t many cases. Basically, we are trying to get everything in place and make sure it is safe. That’s all,” Ganguly was quoted as saying.

Also Read: Full Squad Of Team India Announced Of ODIs and T20s For Australia Tour

Here is the complete squad announced by BCCI

Team India Test squad:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj

Four additional bowlers

Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kartik Tyagi, Ishan Porel and T. Natarajan – will travel with the Indian contingent.

Ganguly further said that the Indian cricket team will be flying to Australia from the UAE after the end of the IPL season, He further asserted that the Australian Cricket Board has made all the necessary arrangement for the safety and security of Indian players.

“We have requested that [families of cricketers to be accommodated on tour] because they have been in the IPL for a long time and then they go straight from the IPL to Australia because there is a 14-day quarantine. It will be solved. They [players] have already been living in a bubble for the last 80 days,” he added.

Generally, Kohli & Co start off their tour by playing their first Test at the Gabba, whenever they tour down under, however, this time there is a change owing to the COVID-19 protocols in the city of Brisbane.

Also Read: Indian Cricket Team to Follow Quarantine Rules in Australia-BCCI President Sourav Ganguly

Here are the ODI and T20I Squads announced by BCCI for Australia Tour

 T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

 ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur