Home Cricket News BCCI Announces India A Squad For Limited-Overs Series vs New Zealand A;...

BCCI Announces India A Squad For Limited-Overs Series vs New Zealand A; Sanju Samson To Lead

Sanju Samson, India A
Sanju Samson (Credit: BCCI)

Sanju Samson has been appointed as the captain of the 16-member India A squad for three one-day matches against New Zealand A. The series will take place in Chennai between September 22 and 27.

Samson, who was left out of India’s T20 World Cup squad, was last in action for the national team during their ODI series in Zimbabwe in late August. Five others from that touring party: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, and Rahul Tripathi are also part of the squad.

Raj Angad Bawa, who was part of India’s U19 World Cup triumph earlier this year, has been named in the squad for the first time. The selectors plan to create a backup for all-rounder Hardik Pandya across all three formats. So far, he has played two Ranji Trophy games for Chandigarh and two IPL games for Punjab Kings.

The India A squad also boasts Kuldeep Yadav, Prithvi Shaw, Shardul Thakur, and Navdeep Saini. It will give the fringe players an opportunity to stake a claim in the Indian ODI side with the 50-over World Cup scheduled to take place at home next year.

Of the others in the India A line-up, Rahul Chahar and Umran Malik have also found a place in the squad along with KS Bharat, Abhimanyu Easwaran and Rajat Patidar have been on the fringes, Kuldeep Sen, the fast bowler, who was also on the recent Asia Cup tour with the national team, though as a net bowler, has been named in the squad.

India A one-day squad: Sanju Samson (capt, wk), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, KS Bharat (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Navdeep Saini, Raj Bawa

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.