Home Cricket News BCCI Announces India Squad For The Upcoming ICC T20 World Cup

BCCI Announces India Squad For The Upcoming ICC T20 World Cup

Indian players celebrate a wicket. (Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a star-studded 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Defending champions Australia will play the host of the marquee T20 event, which will get underway on October 16.

Young leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi was unlucky to miss out from the squad. He had a good outing in the Asia Cup 2022, but was left out of the squad to accommodate veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin. The young leg-spinner has been included in the reserves for the T20 World Cup.

India’s T20 World Cup will be without ace all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who recently underwent surgery on his injured right knee. The Men in Blue have picked a like-for-like replacement in Axar Patel, who played the last Asia Cup game against Afghanistan.

Jasprit Bumrah, who missed the multi-nation tournament in the UAE, returns from his back injury to bolster the team’s fast bowling ranks along with Harshal Patel. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who had a poor outing in the Asia Cup 2022,

Meanwhile, pacers Mohammed Shami and Deepak Chahar have been named in the reserves for the T20 World Cup alongside batter Shreyas Iyer. While Shami hasn’t played T20Is since last year’s World Cup, Chahar made his international T20I comeback against Afghanistan in India’s last Asia Cup game.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Reserve: Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar