Home Cricket News Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer Rested For ODIs vs South Africa

Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer Rested For ODIs vs South Africa

Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer Rested For ODIs vs SA
The duo are a part of the T20I squad. (Photo Credit: ICC)

The England and Wales Cricket Board has announced the ODI and T20I squads for England’s upcoming tour to South Africa. This will be SA’s first series ever since the pandemic started, while for England it will be a return to international cricket after a brief layover. The T20I squad has been given more focus in its build-up given next year’s World T20 scheduled in India. Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer have been included only in the T20I squad to beef up the side. The duo have been rested for the ODIs.

The selectors have named 23 players in all with 10 of them appearing in both squads. Archer, Stokes and Sam Curran, Chris Jordan and Dawid Malan have only been selected in the T20I squad while Joe Root, Chris Woakes, Olly Stone, Lewis Gregory and Liam Livingstone have just been included in the 50-over squad.

Also Read: Mega Or Mini Auction For IPL 2021? BCCI President Sourav Ganguly Answers

The squad will leave England on November 16 for Cape Town. The first T20I will be played on November 27 in Cape Town, followed by the second and third on November 29 and December 1 before the ODI series begins three days later and concludes with matches on December 4 and 9.

In the meantime, Morgan is with the Kolkata Knight Riders in the UAE currently, waiting for the result between SRH vs MI to know if they will make the playoffs. A loss for SRH will mean that KKR goes through to the last four. While a win will seal the deal for SRH in the playoffs.

Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer Rested For ODIs vs SA

England T20I Squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood

England ODI Squad: Eoin Morgan(captain), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves across both formats: Jake Ball, Tom Banton, Tom Helm

Also Read: Brian Lara Reveals His Winner Between Mumbai Indians And Sunrisers Hyderabad