CPL 2021: Retention And Trades Of All Six Franchises

    CPL 2021 Trinbago Knight Riders
    Trinbago Knight Riders lifted CPL 2020 title (Credit: Twitter)

    The buzz surrounding the upcoming edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL 2021) has already started. The six participating teams have already named their retentions and trades ahead of the high-profile draft on May 26.

    The tournament is set to get underway on August 28 with the final to be played on September 19. All the matches will take place at Warner Park in St Kitts.

    Andre Russell, who stirred controversy calling Jamaica Tallawah the ‘weirdest franchise’ has been retained by the same team. Veteran all-rounder Dwayne Bravo, who led the Trinbago Knight Riders to glory in the 2017 and 2018 CPL, will now be turning out for St Kitts and Nevis Patriots. The Patriots, on the other hand, have traded out Denesh Ramdin to the Knights.

    Former West Indies skipper Darren Sammy, who plied his trade for the St Lucia Zouks, won’t be a player anymore. Instead, he will be the T20 Cricket Consultant and Brand Ambassador of the Zouks. The Universe Boss Chris Gayle has once again opted out of CPL.

    Here’s the list of retentions and trades for CPL 2021:

    Trinbago Knight Riders

    Retained– Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Ali Khan

    Trade– Denesh Ramdin (from St Kitts and Nevis Patriots)

    St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

    Retained– Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Rayad Emrit, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Joshua Da Silva, Dominic Drakes

    Trades– Sherfane Rutherford (from Guyana Amazon Warriors), Dwayne Bravo (from Trinbago Knight Riders)

    Barbados Tridents

    Retained– Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh Jr, Raymon Reifer, Justin Greaves, Nyeem Young, Joshua Bishop

    Guyana Amazon Warriors

    Retained– Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Imran Tahir, Brandon King, Naveen-ul-Haq, Romario Shepherd, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmead Nedd

    Jamaica Tallawahs

    Retained– Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell, Fidel Edwards, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud

    St Lucia Zouks

    Retained– Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Rahkeem Cornwall, Roston Chase, Obed McCoy, Mark Deyal, Javelle Glenn