Home Cricket News Cricket South Africa Announces List Of Central Contracts, Big Names Miss Out

Cricket South Africa Announces List Of Central Contracts, Big Names Miss Out

Cricket South Africa Announces List Of Central Contracts, Big Names Miss Out
South Africa Cricket Team

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on March 23 (Monday) announced the list of players for both the men and women who are to be awarded national contracts for the 2020-21 season. While Beuran Hendricks earned his maiden central contract, veteran fast bowler Dale Steyn was left out of the list.

The men’s contracts will cover the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia, South Africa’s home series against Sri Lanka (Tests), Australia (Tests), Pakistan (T20Is), India (T20Is) and away tours to West Indies and Sri Lanka.

Read More: IPL 2020 likely to be called off – Report

While newly-appointed skipper Quinton de Kock has retained his contract, former captain Faf du Plessis also found his name in the contract list. Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius and Rassie van der Dussen earned contract upgrades.

CSA Acting Chief Executive – Dr Jacques Faul while speaking after revealing the list admitted that they have contracted with the players who they feel can serve South Africa across the formats. Furthermore, he added that the contract is still open and the players can qualify with their performances.

Read More: Sanjay Manjrekar reveals his pick for India’s No. 4 and all-rounder for T20 World Cup 2020

“We have contracted 16 men’s players and 14 women’s players which we feel is the appropriate number to maintain our national squads across the various formats,” Faul said.  “This enables us to contract both our Test players as well as those who are limited-overs specialists. We have decided to keep the 17th men’s contract open for the moment and players can qualify for it through performance,” he added. 

On the other hand, the women’s contracts will cover the ICC Women’s World Cup to be played in New Zealand in 2021, in addition to the West Indies and England tours. It will also cover the home series against Australia which was postponed due to the outbreak of COVID-19.

Read More: Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan Show Heartwarming Gesture Amid Coronavirus Outbreak

CSA contracted men’s players: Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

CSA contracted women’s players: Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt.

Read More: Rohit Sharma Could Have Been The Deciding Factor For India During New Zealand Tests – Mitchell McClenaghan

Read More: Albie Morkel Opens Up On The Recipe Behind Chennai Super Kings Success

Latest Posts