The Rajasthan Royals made full use of the short boundary at the Sharjah Cricket stadium. Against an experienced Chennai Super Kings bowling line-up, the Royals recorded the first 200 plus score of IPL 2020.
Put into batting first by MS Dhoni, Rajasthan Royals courtesy of Sanju Samson and Steve Smith reached 216 for 7 after their allotted 20 overs. Samson, in particular, activated his beast mode against the spinners and went berserk. The elegant batsman hit a total of 9 sixes in his knock off 74.
On the other hand, the Rajasthan Royals skipper Smith led from the front with the bat. In a surprising move, Smith came to bat as an opener and batted majority of the overs as he scored 69 off 47 delivers.
Meanwhile, a very interesting incident transpired during the end overs of the royals inning. In the 18th umpire, Tom Curran was adjudged by the umpire when it looked it missed his bat. The Royals were without a review and it seemed that another major umpiring howler has been made in IPL 2020.
During the match of Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Capitals, another major blunder from the umpires caught the eye of everyone. During the KXIP run chase, the square-leg umpire signalled one short but in the replays, it proved that the on-field decision was wrong. At the end that one run dearly costed KXIP as the scores were tied and later they lost in a super over.
Watch The Umpire Howler As Tom Curran Was Wrongly Given Out :
— Prasanna_Bhat 🇮🇳 (@bhat_hosanagara) September 22, 2020
Coming back to the Curran decision, the two umpires later got together to check whether the catch from MS Dhoni was clean. The replays clearly showed that the ball touched Curran’s thigh pad and there was clear daylight between the bat and ball.
Not only that, Dhoni too was wrong on his part as the ball clearly bounced and the decision was overturned. Curran, in the end, remained unbeaten and was part of a crucial partnership with Jofra Archer that took the Royals’ total beyond 200.]