England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced that all-rounder Moeen Ali as England’s vice-captain for the ODI series against Ireland. Moeen has been chosen as Eoin Morgan’s deputy since Jos Buttler is currently with the Test team.

The three-match ODI series will commence on 30th July with all games taking place at Ages Bowl in Southampton. In this series, we will also see the COVID-19 rules and regulations in place set by the ICC as the series will take place behind closed doors.

Moeen Ali to act as Eoin Morgan’s deputy against Ireland

ECB released an official statement confirming that Moeen Ali will be Eoin Morgan’s deputy for the series in Buttler’s absence. This will be a massive boost to Moeen’s confidence, who has been in and out of the squad. The all-rounder will hope to live up to his potential and cement his berth.

“Moeen Ali has been confirmed as Eoin Morgan‘s vice-captain for England Men’s three-match Royal London Series against Ireland,” the ECB said in an official statement.

Moeen Ali (Credit: Twitter)

He was earlier dropped from the Ashes squad last year as he was replaced by left-arm spinner Jack Leach. The all-rounder lost his place owing to lack of wickets and runs. England have a range of spin bowlers in the Test side ranging from Dom Bess to Jack Leach. Moeen will be aiming to cement his berth on the limited-overs side.

The upcoming series against Ireland will pose a great opportunity for the youngsters to make a mark.

Behind-Closed-Doors ODI Training Group:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Henry Brookes, Brydon Carse, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Laurie Evans, Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Sam Hain, Tom Helm, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.