Home Cricket News Aussie Legend Glenn McGrath Names His Top 5 ODI Bowlers

Aussie Legend Glenn McGrath Names His Top 5 ODI Bowlers

Aussie Legend Glenn McGrath Names His Top 5 ODI Bowlers

Former Australian fast bowler Glenn McGrath, who is a pioneer of pace bowling, recently picked top 5 bowlers to play in one-day internationals. Incidentally, the list was dominated the pacers and had only one spinner in it in the form of Muttiah Muralitharan.

McGrath, who was the spearhead of Australian bowling during their glorious days scalped 381 ODI wickets in his 14 years of international cricket which spanned from 1993 to 2007. He is also the all-time leading wicket-taker for the Aussies in ODI cricket.

Glenn McGrath started with Pakistan legend Wasim Akram who has 502 wickets to his name. The greatest exponent of reverse swing is also the highest wicket-taker for his country in the one-day format. His partnership with Waqar Younis proved to be vital during Pakistan’s first title-winning World Cup campaign in 1992.

Glenn McGrath picks two Sri Lankans in top 5 ODI bowlers list

Then McGrath went with Sri Lanka’s Muttiah Muralitharan, who is arguably the greatest spinner to play the game. Murali’s variation with the ball and ability to vary the pace made him a special talent in white-ball cricket. He is one of the two bowlers to scalp more than 500 ODI wickets and boasts an economy of 3.93. Glenn McGrath then went for fellow countryman Brett Lee, who has 380 wickets.

Also Read: Ravindra Jadeja Posts A Cryptic Tweet In Response To Sanjay Manjrekar’s Recent Comments

Lee made his ODI debut in 2000 was a nightmare for many batsmen of this generation. For the third bowler, the former Aussie cricketer went with Sri Lanka’s Chaminda Vaas. The left-arm fast bowler, who played his last in 2008 is fourth in the list of highest wicket-takers in one-dayers.

Glenn McGrath’s last choice as the fast bowler was South Africa’s, Shaun Pollock. The right-arm fast bowler picked up 393 wickets from 303 ODIs, but an economy of 3.67 is a testimony that he was not easy to score runs.

Here’s the list

Wasim Akram- 502 wickets, Muttiah Muralitharan- 534 wickets, Brett Lee- 380 wickets, Chaminda Vaas- 400 wickets, Shaun Pollock- 393 wickets

Also Read: PCB CEO Wasim Khan Uncertain About India Hosting 2021 T20 World Cup

Latest Posts