Home Cricket News Ian Bishop Picks His IPL 2020 XI; Prefers Eoin Morgan Over AB...

Ian Bishop Picks His IPL 2020 XI; Prefers Eoin Morgan Over AB de Villiers

Ian Bishop

The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was filled with closed encounters, Super Overs, brilliant displays of individual performances before Mumbai Indians lifted their fifth IPL title. In the wake of it, cricketing pundits and former cricketers are picking their favourite IPL 2020 XI. Following the trend, former West Indies cricketer Ian Bishop also threw his hat in the ring during a chat with ESPNCricinfo.

The cricketer-turned commentator went with Kings XI Punjab openers – KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal to open the innings. Both of them have been scintillating with the bat since the start of IPL 2020 and rightly so make it into the playing XI.

Ian Bishop prefers Eoin Morgan over AB de Villiers

Mumbai Indians’ duo of Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan found themselves in the No.3 and No.4 position of IPL 2020 XI of Ian Bishop. The right hand-left hand combination has been the lynchpin in Mumbai’s title-winning campaign in the UAE scoring the bulk of the runs.

The veteran preferred Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Eoin Morgan in the middle-order ahead of in-form AB de Villiers which rang a few eyeballs. Mumbai all-rounder Kieron Pollard, who looked exceedingly well throughout the tournament also made it to the team.

Also Read: Best Uncapped XI of IPL 2020

Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal – the leg-spinners who have set IPL 2020 on fire will shoulder the spin duties while Mohammed Shami, Kagiso Rabada, and Jasprit Bumrah will guard the pace attack. Many argued that Rajasthan Royals pacer Jofra Archer, who won the MVP award should have made it to the playing XI but Ian Bishop backed these three.

Ian Bishop IPL 2020 XI

KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Eoin Moran, Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Kagiso Rabada, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal