BCCI President Sourav Ganguly in an ICC release said that he is looking forward to playing his part as an administrator in the upcoming Men’s T20 World Cup, to be hosted by India in 2021. The event was to be hosted this year in November in Australia.

However, the COVID pandemic forced the ICC to postpone the event. Australia will host the 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup, while India will host it in 2021.

Also Read: Ravi Shastri Thanks BCCI For Conducting IPL; Ignores Sourav Ganguly

Meanwhile, addressing the ICC release Sourav Ganguly said that it’s a huge honour to host such a big event and he is looking forward to it from an administrative perspective. Recently, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah along with ICC representatives kicked off the proceedings for the T20 World Cup.

“It is a matter of great honour for us to be hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. India has successfully staged several global events since the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in 1987 and I am sure cricketers from around the world would be excited at the prospect of playing in our cricket-loving country,” said Ganguly in an official ICC release.

Matter of Great Honour Hosting the T20 World Cup: Sourav Ganguly

Ganguly further said he played in ICC events as a player and now to organise them as an administrator is a challenge he is looking forward to. All eyes will be on Virat Kohli-led India, who will be playing in front of their home crowd and will be keen to win the tournament for the first time since 2007.

“I have enjoyed being part of ICC events as a player and know from experience that nothing beats the buzzing atmosphere of a global cricket event with millions around the world watching every game. I now look forward to playing my part as an administrator as we prepare to host the prestigious event,” he added.

Meanwhile, the next T20 World Cup will be a 16 team affair with teams like Papua New Guinea, Oman, Scotland, Namibia also competing with the top-ranked T20I teams.

Sixteen teams from across the world will be coming together to participate, including Papa New Guinea as the newest qualified nation. The teams participating in the tournament scheduled for October-November next year are Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

Also Read: Delhi Capitals To Dominate The IPL Next 4-5 Years: Irfan Pathan