Home Cricket News ICC Announce T20I Team Of Year For 2022

ICC Announce T20I Team Of Year For 2022

ICC Announce T20I Team Of Year For 2022
Kohli, Surya and Hardik Pandya included in ICC T20I team of year for 2022

The International Cricket Council announced the T20I team of the year for 2022. The team includes 3 Indian players including Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, and Hardik Pandya.

Jos Buttler has been named the captain and wicketkeeper. Buttler led England to win their 2nd T20 World Cup defeating Pakistan in the finals of the tournament. Mohammed Rizwan also had a brilliant year in the T20I format for 2022. He ended 2022 with 996 runs from 25 matches ( 25 innings) including 10 half-centuries to his name.

Virat Kohli also showed great performances in the T20I format. He showed his class with his maiden T20I century in Asia Cup 2022 against Afghanistan. Kohli was the leading run-scorer in T20I World Cup including best ever knock of 82 not out against arch-rivals Pakistan during the first Super 12 match played at iconic MCG.

Surya Kumar Yadav showed his T20I abilities by being the leading run-getter in the shortest format for 2022. He scored 1164 runs from 31 matches ( 31 innings) including 2 centuries and 9 half-centuries to his name.

Glenn Phillips looked impressive in the T20I format during 2022. He made 716 runs from 21 matches ( 19 innings) with 1 century and 6 half-centuries. Phillips proved his worth with 104 against Sri Lanka in the T20I World Cup match.

Sikander Raza proved his worth with both bat and ball for Zimbabwe. He made 735 runs from 24 matches ( 23 innings) including 5 half-centuries with a best of 87. With the ball, Raza grabbed 25 wickets that helped Zimbabwe register a famous win over Pakistan in T20I World Cup.

Hardik Pandya
Photo: AP Photo

Hardik Pandya looked impressive showing his class in the shortest format during 2022. He made 607 runs from 27 matches ( 25 innings) including 3 half-centuries with a knock of 71 not out.

Sam Curran from England proved his worth during ICC T20 World Cup 2022. He was named the player of the tournament for 13 wickets including man of the match performance in the finals against Pakistan. He took a total of 25 scalps in 19 innings.

Joshua Little was the leading wicket-taker in the T20I format in 2022. He took a total of 39 wickets including hat trick against New Zealand during the World Cup. He went with an economy of 7.58 runs per over. Haris Rauf proved his worth with 31 wickets from 23 innings at an economy of 7.54 runs per over.

Hasranaga looked impressive for Sri Lanka in 2022. He grabbed 34 wickets in 19 innings and also finished as the leading wicket-taker during ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Despite Sri Lanka not qualifying for Semi-finals, Hasranaga proved his worth in the T20I format.

Here we look at the ICC Men’s T20I team of the year

  1. Jos Buttler (C, WK)- England
  2. Mohammed Rizwan-Pakistan
  3. Virat Kohli- India
  4. Suryakumar Yadav- India
  5. Glenn Phillips- New Zealand
  6. Sikander Raza- Zimbabwe
  7.  Hardik Pandya- India
  8.  Sam Curran- England
  9.  Wandidu Hasaranga- Sri Lanka
  10. Haris Rauf-Pakistan
  11. Joshua Little-Ireland

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts