The International Cricket Council (ICC) got entangled in an awkward situation after they posted the picture of Lahiru Thirimanne in place of Dimuth Karunaratne. The situation became embarrassing as Karunaratne himself rectified the mistake.
The Sri Lankan skipper was inextinguishable against Bangladesh during their Test at Pallekele. He notched 244 runs off 437 balls, his career’s best, which included 26 boundaries. Standing for 698 minutes, Karunaratne broke aplenty records and joined an elite panel of SL batters who stayed at the crease for an entire day.
Dimuth Karunaratne gives an epic reply to ICC
He knitted a 345 run-stand alongside Dhananjaya de Silva. De Silva knocked up 166 from 291 deliveries. The first Test ended in a draw. After the match, the ICC posted a picture of Thirimanne engaging in a straight drive but tagged Dimuth Karunaratne. Karunaratne commented on the erroneous post saying, “that is not me’.
ICC captioned the post as “Precision. Elegance. Poise”. But the erroneous picture quickly drew the fans’ attention. “Dear ICC, he is Thirimanne, not Karunaratne,” a fan commented. After noticing their mistake, ICC deleted the post from all their social media accounts.
Sri Lanka is currently playing Bangladesh in the second Test at the same venue. The sleepy draw in the first match where 1289 runs were scored in 14 sessions across five days before rain played a spoilsport. The result has made the experts and fans question the stadium. Only 17 wickets fell in the game, and even a day went without any wicket.
The surface received one demerit point by the ICC and was handed a below-average rating by the match referee Ranjan Madugalle. He is a part of the ICC Elite Match Referee Panel. Some Bangladesh players are associated with the Indian Premier League, and they are not featuring in the Tests against Sri Lanka. Bangladesh was scheduled to visit SL in 2020, but due to the pandemic, it got postponed.