Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Chief Selector Chetan Sharma Explains Ravichandran Ashwin’s...

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Chief Selector Chetan Sharma Explains Ravichandran Ashwin’s Selection In The Indian Squad

Ravichandran Ashwin T20 World Cup squad
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Ravichandran Ashwin’s selection in the Indian T20 squad came as a surprise to many. He was chosen over the likes of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav despite playing white-ball cricket three years ago. The off-spinner has made comeback to the squad for the first time since 2017 and has made it to the 18-member squad selected for the marquee tournament in the UAE. 

Meanwhile, Indian chief selector Chetan Sharma has explained the reason behind the selection of Ravichandran Ashwin ahead of the likes of Kuldeep and Chahal. While addressing a virtual presser on Wednesday, Chetan Sharma stated that good performances in the Indian Premier League (IPL) went in favour of Ashwin as hence, he was named in the squad.

“Ravichandran Ashwin has been playing in the IPL regularly. He has performed well there. When you go into the World Cup, you need an off-spinner, everyone has an idea that the wickets in the UAE will get slower as IPL will also be played there,” said Sharma during a virtual press conference.

Ravichandran Ashwin-Virat Kohli
Photo Credit:

Further expressing the importance of off-spinners in UAE conditions, he said that off-spinners will get enough help from the conditions and the injury to Washington Sundar has opened up an opportunity for Ashwin’s selection. 

Ravichandran Ashwin Is An Asset For The Team: Chetan Sharma

“Spinners will get assistance so having an off-spinner holds the key. Washington Sundar is injured and Ashwin is an asset for the team. He has performed well in the IPL so that is why he has found a place for himself in the squad,” he added.

Ravichandran Ashwin last played a T20I against West Indies in July 2017 and was sidelined from India’s white-ball squads after the 2017 Champions Trophy. India will begin their campaign against Pakistan on October 24. The final will be played on November 14. 

India squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarty, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan

Stand By Players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Top 3 Surprise Picks In India’s Squad

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.