Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Pakistan Announce 15-Member Squad For The Tournament

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Pakistan Announce 15-Member Squad For The Tournament

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Pakistan Announce 15-Member Squad For The Tournament
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced a 15-member squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 to be played in the UAE. The marquee tournament is scheduled to begin on 17 October and the summit clash will take place on 14 November. Pakistan is pitted in group A along with teams like India, New Zealand and Afghanistan. Meanwhile, there are a few surprise exclusions from the team with Wahab Riaz and Shoaib Malik missing from the squad. Ramiz Raja who will be the upcoming PCB chairman has given his thoughts after the squad was announced.

The same squad will be playing a series against England and New Zealand each before playing the marquee tournament. They earlier drew a T20I and a Test series against West Indies. They will play a five-match T20I series against New Zealand between September 25-October 03. They will then play a two-match T20I series against England on October 13 and October 14.

Pakistan won the 2009 edition of the T20 World Cup and start its 2021 campaign against India on September 24 in Dubai. They then play against New Zealand in Sharjah on September 26 followed by a match against Afghanistan in Dubai on October 29.

The first semi-final will be held in Abu Dhabi on November 10. The second semi-final will be hosted by Dubai on November 11. Both semi-finals have reserve days. The big final will be played in Dubai on November 14, Sunday.

Pakistan Squad For T20 World Cup 2021 England & New Zealand Series

Babar Azam (Captain), Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Muhammad Hafeez, Muhammad Hasnain, Muhammad Rizwan (wicket keeper), Shahdab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Asif Ali, Sohaib Maqsood, Azam Khan, Muhammad Nawaz and Wasim Khan Junior

Pakistan’s T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule

October 24: India vs Pakistan 7:30 pm Dubai
October 26: Pakistan vs New Zealand 7:30 pm Sharjah
October 29: Afghanistan vs Pakistan – 7:30 pm Dubai
November 2: Pakistan vs Runner Up of Group A (A2) – 7:30 pm Abu Dhabi
November 7: Pakistan vs Winner of Group B (B1) – 7:30 pm Sharjah

“Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir were unlucky to miss out on the selections. Sohaib Maqsood’s ability to bat and perform anywhere in the top-order has given him an edge over Fakhar, while the presence of three experienced spinners, who are also capable batters, and five genuine wicket-taking fast bowlers made it difficult for Usman Qadir to get into the side. Like Faheem, an uncapped Shahnawaz was tied with Mohammad Wasim Junior, but we opted for the latter due to his pace and batting abilities” said the Pakistan Chief Selector 

Also Read: ENG vs IND 2021: “Ajinkya Rahane’s Form Not A Concern” – Indian Batting Coach Vikram Rathour

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.


Latest Posts