Home Cricket News Indian Cricketers to Serve Hard Quarantine Before Leaving For England

Indian Cricketers to Serve Hard Quarantine Before Leaving For England

Indian Cricketers to Serve Hard Quarantine Before Leaving For England
Photo Credit: (Twitter/BCCI)

The Indian cricketers are prepping up for the second overseas tour since the coronavirus pandemic has halted the world and sporting activities. India’s cricketing schedule resumed last year with their series against Australia in the latter’s backyard. Now, the Men in Blue are gearing up for the much-awaited inaugural International Cricket Council (ICC) World Test Championship Final.

The final will be played between 18th June to 22nd June in Southampton, United Kingdom. India-England Test series will be played in England after the World Test Championship final. The sides will engage in a five-match Test series starting on August 4.

Indian cricketers to quarantine in Mumbai

After the World Test Championship final, India will play intra-squad matches before the series against England kicks off. However, due to the surge in coronavirus cases in India, the play will be serving one-week hard quarantine before they travel to the UK.

According to reports, Indian cricketers will be quarantined in a hotel in Mumbai in the fourth week of May. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will not entertain any home quarantine. The players are asked to assemble in Mumbai with a COVID-19 negative report. The BCCI mandated the COVID-19 negative report to avoid any inconvenience. Even in the Indian Premier League (IPL), the players had to carry the negative report.

According to the UK government’s rule, people with no residential rights in the UK are not allowed in the country. However, the sportspersons are allowed, and they will be in isolation for 10 days upon arrival.

Yesterday the BCCI declared the 20-member squad for the upcoming ICC World Test Championship Final and the five-match Test series against England. Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav found themselves out of the squad. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Prithvi Shaw were shunned. Ravindra Jadeja, who was ruled out after sustaining an injury during the Australia series, makes comeback.

Squad: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav

Latest Posts