Home Cricket News INDvSL: New inclusions for ODI squad & senior player rested; here are all the details

INDvSL: New inclusions for ODI squad & senior player rested; here are all the details


Virat Kohli has been rested for the upcoming One day international series against Sri Lanka starting from 10th December. The BCCI has named Rohit Sharma the captain.

There is only 1 new face in the ODI squad against Sri Lanka which includes Punjab Siddarth Kaul who has performed well during domestic tournaments for Punjab for quite some time. Shikhar Dhawan, Rahane and Rohit Sharma are the three openers.

Shreyas Iyer has been included for the first time in One day Internationals. This would be a great chance for the youngster to showcase his talent against Sri Lanka. Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik and Mahendra Singh Dhoni would the middle order. Hardik Pandya makes a comeback into the ODI squad after being rested for test series.

In the bowling department, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Siddarth Kaul are the fast bowlers. The spin bowling options include Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Kuldeep Yadav. It would be an ideal break for Kohli to prepare for the big South African tour. The first ODI will be held on 10th December at Dharmashala, the second one on 13th December at Mohali and the final ODI will take place on 17th December in Vizag.

Kohli has been playing non-stop cricket since the IPL 10. It is a great chance for Kohli to recharge his battery ahead of the big South African tour. India will play 3 ODI’s which will be followed by 3 T20Is.

India has retained the same squad for the 3rd test against Sri Lanka. Virat Kohli will be captaining the Indian team at his home ground.

Indian team for the ODI series against Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rahane, Sheryas Iyer, Manish Pandey,  Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul

Indian team for the 3rd test match against Sri Lanka

Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar.

Latest Posts