Home Cricket News IPL 2022: SRH Announces Their Retentions; Kane Williamson To Stay

IPL 2022: SRH Announces Their Retentions; Kane Williamson To Stay

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2021 schedule IPL Fantasy Tips Sunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan Royals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (Photo Credits: IPL)

The next edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will take place in India and before that, a mega auction will take place. Moreover, two new teams – Lucknow and Ahmedabad have been added and ten teams will compete from the next season as well.

As per the guidelines, each franchise can retain a maximum number of four players and at most two of them can be overseas as well. However, if they retain four players, their auction purse will be reduced by 42 crore. If they retain three players, the purse will be Rs 33 crore, two retentions will cost Rs 24 crore while one would cost Rs 14 crore as well.

However, a few franchises have already shared their probable list of retention players. As far as Sunrisers Hyderabad is concerned, they are eyeing a fresh start ahead of the mega auction. The franchise took to Twitter and thanked all the players who were a part of their squad. “We thank the players for their contribution to SRH over the years. This is not a goodbye, as we hope to welcome back some Risers in the auction,” they wrote.

SRH Retained and Released Players 2022

Recent Match Report - Sunrisers vs RCB 11th Match 2019 | ESPNcricinfo.com

Not like any other teams, SRH depend on their foreign players most. David Warner, Kane Williamson and Jonny Bairstow were the three pillars of their batting order. On the other hand, all-rounder Jason Holder(West Indies) has done well too. He picked 16 wickets on playing 8 matches and scored 85 runs with the bat last season. Meanwhile, Rashid Khan is the only player to bag 10+(18) wickets in total in IPL 2021.

IPL 2022 Retention Sunrisers Hyderabad


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ESPNcricinfo (@espncricinfo)

SRH Released Players in IPL 2022

Apart from the retained players, SRH will release others – be it capped and uncapped and they will purchase the needed player in the IPL 2022 Auction as well. The following players are expected to release in IPL 2022 Auction.

  • David Warner
  • Abhishek Sharma
  • Basil Thampi
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Sandeep Sharma
  • Shahbaz Nadeem
  • Shreevats Goswami
  • Siddarth Kaul
  • Khaleel Ahmed
  • Vijay Shankar
  • Wriddhiman Saha
  • Virat Singh
  • Priyam Garg
  • Mitchell Marsh
  • Jason Holder
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Mujeeb-ur-Rahman
  • Jagadeesha Suchith
  • Sherfane Rutherford
  • Jonny Bairstow

SRH Retained Players

Kane Williamson, Umran Malik, Abdul Samad

Get the latest cricket news and like us on Facebook for more such content.