Home Cricket News IPL 2023: David Warner Named Captain Of Delhi Capitals – Reports

IPL 2023: David Warner Named Captain Of Delhi Capitals – Reports

IPL 2023: David Warner Named Captain Of Delhi Capitals – Reports
David Warner (Credit: BCCI/IPL)

The final captain of IPL 2023 has been announced as David Warner named as the skipper of the Delhi Capitals squad in the absence of Rishabh Pant.

David Warner was retained by the Delhi Capitals franchise before the auction. Warner was the leading run scorer for DC last year with 432 runs from 12 matches ( 12 innings) with 5 half-centuries to his name including his best score of an unbeaten 92. The pocket dynamo did not play the full quota of matches.

Rishabh Pant was appointed as the captain of the Delhi Capitals franchise last year. He will be not taking part in this year’s edition as he survived a major car accident on 30 December 2022.

“David will be our captain, and Axar Patel will be his deputy,” a DC insider was quoted as saying on Cricbuzz. An official announcement is yet to be made from DC’s end.

Delhi Capitals failed to reach the playoff stage in the 2022 season as they lost their last league match against Mumbai Indians.

Delhi Capitals retained a total of 19 players including David Warner, Rishabh Pant, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Mitchell Marsh, Sarfaraz Khan, Vicky Otswal, Yash Dhull, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakaryia, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi, Khaleel Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Ripal Patel, Prithvi Shaw.

They have bought Ishant Sharma for Rs 50 Lakhs, Phil Salt for 2 Crore, Mukesh Kumar for 5.5 Crore, Manish Pandey for 2.4 Crore, and Rile Rossouw for 4.6 Crore.

David Warner
David Warner

David Warner’s experience as a captain

David Warner will be back again as a captain in Indian Premier League. He led Sunrisers Hyderabad to their first-ever title during the 2016 edition defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals.

After a disappointing performance, Sunrisers Hyderabad took the captaincy from him mid-way through the 2020 season and gave the captaincy to Kane Williamson. Warner did not play all matches in the 2021 edition.

Ahead of the 2022 auction, Sunrisers Hyderabad released him from the squad to fight between him and team management, Warner was bought by Delhi Capitals for Rs 6.25 Crore. Warner began his IPL career in the Delhi franchise when it was called Delhi Daredevils.

Warner would be looking to lead the Delhi Capitals franchise as they have not won any IPL title so far.

Here we look at all 10 captains of IPL 2023

  1. Gujarat Titans- Hardik Pandya
  2. Rajasthan Royals- Sanju Samson
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore- Faf du Plessis
  4. Mumbai Indians- Rohit Sharma
  5. Delhi Capitals- David Warner
  6. Sunrisers Hyderabad- Aiden Markram
  7. Chennai Super Kings- MS Dhoni
  8. Kolkata Knight Riders- Shreyas Iyer
  9. Lucknow Super Giants- KL Rahul
  10. Punjab Kings- Shikhar Dhawan

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts