Cricket News

IPL Bound England Players Likely To Miss First Test Against New Zealand

The rule will create some troubles for England cricket. Some of their Test players are in India taking part in the Indian Premier League.

According to United Kingdom’s new policy, all UK residents entering the UK from the ‘red list’ countries will undergo 10-day mandatory quarantine.  The UK government has put India on the red list due to the alarming number of coronavirus cases in India. All those who have residential rights in the UK but entering the country from India will serve the mandatory quarantine.

The rule will create some troubles for England cricket ahead of their Test series against New Zealand. Some of their Test players are currently in India taking part in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The 14th edition of the IPL will end on May 30th. England are scheduled to play a Test series against New Zealand starting on June 2. The group stage will end on May 23rd, even after that the players whose team will not qualify for the playoff will not have adequate time to finish their quarantine and join the field.

England to miss cricketers for first Test

The English players taking part in the IPL are Jonny Bairstow (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Sam Curran (Chennai Super Kings), Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals) and Chris Woakes (Chris Woakes). After sustaining a left-thumb fracture, Ben Stokes will be out of England’s side.

New Zealand will also miss some of their regular players. Some of their Test stalwarts like Trent Boult (Mumbai Indians), Kane Williamson (SunRisers Hyderabad), Kyle Jamieson (Royal Challengers Bangalore), are serving different teams in the franchise-based T2- league.

England and New Zealand will engage in a two-match Test series in June. The first Test will take place in London starting on June 2, while Birmingham will host the second Test commencing on June 10.

Following the Test series, New Zealand will take part in the inaugural World Test Championship final. Kane Williamson’s side will take on Virat Kohli’s India in the final. Southampton will host the final starting on June 18, 2021. Earlier Lord’s was supposed to host the final of the WTC.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker