Home Cricket News Jaydev Unadkat Called Up To India Test Squad For Bangladesh Tests

Jaydev Unadkat Called Up To India Test Squad For Bangladesh Tests

Jaydev Unadkat Called Up To India Test Squad For Bangladesh Tests
Jaydev Unadkat

Senior fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat has been called up to the India side for the upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh. The series will get underway in Chattogram, starting on December 14.

Unadkat has been picked in place of Mohammed Shami, who has been ruled out of the Test series due to a bowling arm stress. Shami was earlier ruled out of the three-match ODI series.

Should Jaydev Unadkat get to play in either of the Tests in Bangladesh, he will be setting a record for the lengthiest gap between two Tests by an Indian cricketer, which is currently held by former cricketer Parthiv Patel.

The 31-year-old left-arm pacer, who recently guided Saurashtra to the Vijay Hazare Trophy, played his only Test in 2010, against South Africa in Centurion. Since then, he has played seven ODIs and 10 Twenty20 Internationals but was never considered for the five-day game.

Unadkat has been in spectacular form in recent times, picking up 19 scalps in 10 games in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He also has astronomical numbers in the domestic circuit, scalping 353 wickets in 96 games. He had a record-breaking 2019-20 Ranji Trophy season, picking up 67 wickets and helping his side lift the maiden title.

Jaydev Unadkat is expected to join the Indian squad in Chattogram by Sunday, December 11.

The first Test begins on December 14 in Chattogram followed by the second and final Test that will kickstart on December 22 in Dhaka.

India vs Bangladesh – Squads

India: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav

Bangladesh (1st Test): Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hassan Shanto, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Zakir Hasan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, and Anamul Haque Bijoy.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts