After missing out the 2nd Test due to breaching of bio-secure protocols, Jofra Archer is all set to return to the England squad for the deciding encounter. Just after the first Test, Archer had gone back to his home without informing the authorities about the same.

Now as per the protocols, the players are barred from travelling and strictly have to adhere to the COVID-19 guidelines. While the English side had decided to head straight to Manchester from Southampton, Archer instead went to his home for a brief while.

As a result, ECB had banned him from playing the 2nd Test again West Indies on the grounds of negligence. Not just that, the board fined him an undisclosed amount and had been given an official warning for the same.

Jofra Archer returns to England squad for 3rd Test

English captain Joe Root said that Archer looked in rhythm during the practice session. However, he stated that the management will sit in the morning of the Test to pick the pace attack.

“He spent much of the last Test on the field, but it does take a lot to keep him down and out of the action,” Root said.

“We’ll see how he is in the morning but if you look at our squad we’ve got a lot of brilliant options to choose from. Whatever combination we go with is obviously capable of taking 20 wickets,” he added. 

Jofra Archer out COVID-19 test

Jofra Archer (Credit: Getty Images)

On the other hand, veteran fast bowler James Anderson has also returned to the squad after missing the second Test. England head coach Chris Silverwood said that they will field the strongest pace attack for the deciding encounter.

The bilateral Test series is poised at a cliff-hanger as the series is levelled 1-1 after the first 2 matches. Old Trafford will host the decider in front of the empty stands as was the case for the previous 2-Test as well.

It will be interesting to note as to which team will go into the history book by being the first team to register a series victory during the COVID-19 era.

14-man England Squad for 3rd Test:

Joe Root (captain), James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Dominic Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Ollie Pope, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.