Home Cricket News Maharashtra Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Ruturaj Gaikwad To Lead

Maharashtra Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Ruturaj Gaikwad To Lead

Maharashtra ruturaj Gaikwad COVID-19 negative Positive Miss Few IPL Matches Ruturaj ruled out IPL 2020 opener
Ruturaj Gaikwad (Credit: Twitter)

Maharashtra have named Chennai Super Kings batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad as the skipper for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy starting from February 20. Maharashtra Cricket Association announced their 20-member squad on microblogging site Twitter.

Meanwhile, Gaikwad has been doing the rounds for quite some time now. After impressing for India A side, Ruturaj Gaikwad impressed for Chennai Super Kings during his stint in IPL 2020 in the UAE. The upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy will be a learning curve for the young opening batsman

Ruturaj Gaikwad to lead Maharashtra

Other than Gaikwad, some other experienced players like Rahul Tripathi, Ankeet Bawane, and Kedar Jadhav have also been named in the side. The upcoming competition will be a great platform for seasoned campaigner Kedar to grab the attention of the national selectors who has fell off the radar of the Indian team and warm-up for IPL 2021 if he gets any buyer during the auction.

Also Read: Mumbai Announce Squad For Vijay Hazare Trophy; Shreyas Iyer To Lead

In the bowling department, selectors have named slow-left arm orthodox spinners Satyajeet Bachhav, Jagdish Zope, pacers Ashay Palkar, Manoj Ingle, Pradeep Dadhe, and left-arm speedster Mukesh Choudhary. On the other hand, Nikhil Naik and Vishant More have been selected as the wicket-keeper batsman role.

Maharashtra are tied in Group D alongside Puducherry, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Mumbai. Maharashtra’s first match will be against Himachal Pradesh on February 21. All the matches of Group D will be played in Jaipur.

Maharashtra squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Rahul Tripathi, Ankeet Bawane, Naushad Shaikh, Kedar Jadhav, Azim Kazi, Nikhil Naik (WK), Vishant More (WK), Satyajeet Bachhav, Ashay Palkar, Taranjeet Singh Dhillon, Shamshuzma Kazi, Pradeep Dadhe, Mukesh Choudhary, Manoj Ingle, Rajyavardhan Hangargekar, Jagdish Zope, Yash Nahar, Yash Kshirsagar, Ranjeet Nikam.