fbpx

Delhi Capitals pulled off their second consecutive victory of this season in the match against Chennai Super Kings. The Delhi based franchise led by captain Shreyas Iyer was able to avenge the three-time IPL winners At Dubai. On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings lost their second consecutive match of this season as the problems have just begun for the franchise in yellow.

Though MS Dhoni is on a two-match losing streak this season and hasn’t been in the best of forms, he impacted a crucial stumping of Prithvi Shaw to end the onslaught caused by the opener early on in the innings. The stumping was in the talks as everyone praised the wicket-keeper for showing his reflexes even at the age of 39.

Prithvi Shaw Dismissal: Run Out or Stumped?

The question about the stumping was raised by many people around the world as they weren’t sure if that was a runout or a stumping. Since Prithvi was way down the pitch to play the ball, he was still adjudged stumping but many argued that it was a runout. Well, let’s clear the air about the decision of the apparent run-out and stumping.

Also read: Eoin Morgan Showers Heaps Of Praise On Superstar Shubman Gill

First let’s read about the rules set by the MCC, the rules defining body of cricket, such dismissal is called stumping itself. The rule read,

“He/she has not attempted a run when his/her wicket is fairly put down by the wicketkeeper without the intervention of another fielder.”

So since Shaw stepped out and wasn’t looking to take a run,  he was adjudged stumped out but if he would’ve looked to take a run after stepping out then he would’ve been adjudged run out.

That’s what the rule states and which is why the star Mumbai batsmen playing for the Delhi Capitals was adjudged stumped out instead of a run out.