Home Cricket News Reports: Najam Sethi Will Not Run For PCB Chairman

Reports: Najam Sethi Will Not Run For PCB Chairman

Reports: Najam Sethi Will Not Run For PCB Chairman

Najam Sethi currently serves the chairman of an interim management committee for the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

Najam Sethi has decided not to run for the position of the organization’s next permanent chairman.

On December 22, 2022, Ramiz Raja was removed from office, and the interim committee assumed control.

Sethi was instrumental in resolving the Asia Cup hosting dispute and their ODI World Cup participation over the past few months.

It is anticipated that the next PCB Chairman will be immediately thrown into the fray

The selection department and the coaching unit have both recently undergone changes thanks to the committee.

The interim committee’s term is set to expire on June 21. As previously agreed, the board is looking for a replacement.

It appeared that Sethi would take on the chairmanship permanently going forward, given the effort he has put in.

He has stated that he is not a candidate to be chairman, though. He announced his intentions in a tweet that read:

“I don’t want to cause Asif Zardari and Shehbaz Sharif any trouble. PCB is not well served by such instability and uncertainty.”

“Given the facts, I am not a candidate for PCB Chairmanship. We wish everyone involved luck.”

The decision-making authority for PCB matters rests with Pakistani Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif.

Since the candidate is typically chosen from the Prime Minister’s political party, in this case the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, the nomination process for the new chairman is a difficult one.

However, the Pakistan People’s Party is currently arguing that they should be chosen as the next Chairman because they believe they are in charge of the country’s sporting activities.

ESPN Cricinfo reported that the two candidates for the position at this time are expected to be former president and PCB chairman Zaka Ashraf and former Supreme Court attorney Mustafa Ramday.

They’ll both run against one another for the position of the PCB’s next Chairman for a three-year term after being sworn in as members of the board of governors (BoG), which has 10 members.

The election is merely a formality, according to the report, and Ashraf is the clear favorite to lead.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts