Home Cricket News Road Safety World Series 2022 Likely To Be Held In January

Road Safety World Series 2022 Likely To Be Held In January

Virender Sehwag-Sachin Tendulkar
Photo Credit: (Twitter/Road Safety World Series)

The second edition of the Road Safety World Series is likely to take place from January 9 to February 16. Former cricketers from six countries – Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, and England participate in the league to create awareness about the safety rules on the road. Sunil Gavaskar, former India captain, was the commissioner of the series, while Sachin Tendulkar is the brand ambassador.

The inaugural edition of the league was hosted by India in 2020-2021 but due to the covid pandemic, the tournament was postponed mid-way. The first phase took place in Mumbai and Pune. Sachin Tendulkar (India Legends), Brian Lara (West Indies Legends) Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka Legends), Brett Lee (Australia Legends), and Jonty Rhodes (South Africa Legends) led their respective teams.

The second phase took place in March 2021 at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur. The Australian Legends chose not to participate in the second phase and thus they were replaced by the Bangladesh team.

According to reports, Sri Lanka will host the second edition of the tournament. However, there hasn’t been any official communication yet regarding the date and the venues.

India Legends won the Inaugural edition of the Road Safety World Series

India Legends

The India Legends team led by Sachin Tendulkar topped the points table in the first edition of the Road Safety World Series. They won five out of their six matches and accumulated 20 points.

The India Legends took on the Sri Lanka Legends in the finals of the tournament. Yuvraj Singh (60 off 41) and Yusuf Pathan (62* of 36) played spectacular innings. The Sri Lankan Legends fell 14 runs short of 182 as the Pathan brothers took two wickets each. Yusuf was the Player of the Match while the Sri Lankan skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan was the Player of the Series.

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.