Home Cricket News SL vs IND 2021: Dasun Shanaka To Lead Sri Lanka’s 25-Member Squad Against India

SL vs IND 2021: Dasun Shanaka To Lead Sri Lanka’s 25-Member Squad Against India

SL vs IND 2021: Dasun Shanaka To Lead Sri Lanka’s 25-Member Squad Against India
Photo : Getty Images

The Sri Lanka Cricket selectors named a 25-member Sri Lanka squad for the series against India. Three one-day internationals and three T20 internationals will place between the teams at the R. Premadasa Stadium.

All-rounder Dasun Shanaka will replace Kushal Perera as the leader of the Sri Lanka squad. Dhananjaya De Silva will be his deputy, as reported by Daily News. The squad is yet to be approved by the Sri Lanka sports minister.

Uncapped players Lahiru Udara, Lahiru Kumara, Ashen Bandara, Kasun Rajitha, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa are also part of the squad. Senior player Angelo Matthews has decided to opted out of the tour for personal reasons. Earlier he and Test captain Dimuth Karunaratne were left out from the list of Sri Lanka’s centrally contracted players.

Dasun Shanaka is Sri Lanka’s sixth limited-overs captain in the last four years. Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Dimuth Karunaratne, and Kushal Perera are the other five. He also led the team in a three-match T20 International series in 2019.

In the recent series against England, the Sri Lankan team put up a dismal performance as they lost both the T20 international and one-day international series. The team has faced a lot of criticism and will look to make a stronger comeback against the Indian Team.

Sri Lanka Squad:

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Udara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

Schedule for Sri Lanka vs India series:

1st ODI: July 13, 2:30 PM IST

2nd ODI: July 16, 2:30 PM IST

3rd ODI: July 18, 2:30 PM IST

1st T20I: July 21, 7:00 PM IST

2nd T20I: July 23, 7:00 PM IST

3rd T20I: July 25, 7:00 PM IST

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts