Home Cricket News South Africa Cricketers Likely To Miss The Start Of IPL 2020

South Africa Cricketers Likely To Miss The Start Of IPL 2020

South Africa Cricketers Likely To Miss The Start Of IPL 2020
AB de Villiers (Credit: IPL)

The buzz surrounding IPL 2020 has already started after BCCI reportedly announced the commencement date. But sadly, a couple of South Africa cricketers are likely to miss the start of IPL 2020 due to the spread of COVID-19 pandemic.

Meanwhile, a lockdown has been prevailing in South Africa due to the upsurge in the rise of positive COVID-19 cases. They have closed their border with no movement allowed in the country. The restrictions saw five cricketers withdraw from the Caribbean Premier League, which starts on August 18. David Wiese, who also lives in South Africa, will miss the county season, which kicks off on Saturday.

South Africa cricketers to miss start of IPL 2020

And subsequently, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock, Dale Steyn among other Proteas cricketers will most likely miss the start of IPL. Only Imran Tahir, who currently lives in Pakistan, has made travel arrangements to play in the CPL. He will also be available from the start of IPL in the UAE.

AB de Villiers IPL
AB de Villiers (Credit: IPL)

However, IPL franchises will be desperate to get their players from the start; however, it will require clearance from the government. BCCI will like to strike a chord with Cricket South Africa and find out a solution for the nine contracted Proteas players.

IPL 2020 will commence from September 19 and will run until November 8. The players will remain in a bio-secure bubble once they reach the UAE. BCCI will come up with detailed plans, fixtures, rules and guidelines for IPL 2020 on August 2.

SA players with IPL contracts –

AB De Villiers (RCB), Quinton de Kock (MI), Dale Steyn (RCB), Chris Morris (RCB), Kagiso Rabada (DC), Lungi Ngidi (CSK), Faf Du Plessis (CSK), Imran Tahir (CSK), David Miller (RR),  Hardus Viljoen (KXIP).

Latest Posts