Rajasthan Royals (RR) skipper Steve Smith is still waiting to unite with the entire squad for the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). He is currently in England to play the limited-overs series which will end on September 16. However, Smith is happy with the Rajasthan Royals team combinations for IPL 2020.

The management named Smith as their skipper ahead of the season. The Royals will look to improve their performance after a disappointing last edition. They had finished seventh in the eight-team competition after managing just 5 wins from 14 games in IPL 2019.

Smith happy with Rajasthan Royals team combinations

However, this time around, the side looks a lot balanced. Steve Smith is also happy with the Rajasthan Royals team combination and stated that they have the variety to combat alien condition in the UAE.

“We’ve got a great combination of youth and experience in the batting line-up. Some really experienced internationals who’ve been around a fair bit and some very talented and exciting Indian guys who add great value to the squad.

Our bowling has a lot of variety; good fast bowlers and some quality spinners. I think we’ve got a good setup, which will be important in different conditions during the IPL,” Steve Smith told Sportstar.

The former Aussie skipper is also confident that senior cricketers will guide youngsters like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Kartik Tyagi to help them grow.

“We’ve also got some experienced players like Jay (Jaydev Unadkat), Varun (Aaron) and Robin Uthappa who have been around the IPL for a while now and will be vital for the season, helping the young boys in the squad to settle.

“As far as the youngsters go, the under-19 World Cup showed the quality of guys like (Yashasvi) Jaiswal, (Kartik) Tyagi and (Akash) Singh. Riyan (Parag) was really good last time around and hopefully, he can continue that this time, too,” he added.

Meanwhile, Rajasthan Royals will begin their campaign on September 22 against Chennai Super Kings. Skipper Steve Smith is likely to join the squad on September 17.