South Africa spinner Tabraiz Shamsi has slammed the critics of Quinton de Kock after he was blamed for deceiving Fakhar Zaman in the 2nd ODI. The Pakistan opener was putting on a show and was on the brink of completing a double century. In the dying stages of the match, Zaman attempted a risky second run which proved to be his downfall.
While he was running the second run South Africa’s, wicket-keeper De Kock tricked him and he was run out. De Kock pointed his finger towards the non-striker’s end and Zaman believed that he was safe and looked back at his partner. Soon he realised that De Kock has sold him a dummy but by then it was too late as the ball at his end hit the stumps and he fell 7 runs short of what could have been an all-time great 200.
Leave Quinton de Kock alone- Tabraiz Shamsi On The Bizzare Fakhar Zaman Dismissal
Post his dismissal fans on social media called De Kock a ‘cheater’ and taught him to play within the rules of the ICC. Now, Tabraiz Shamsi who was part of the match holds that his teammate did nothing wrong and suggested fans stop hating. On his official Twitter account, Shamsi clarified that De Kock was pointing a fielder to back up at the non-striker’s end and was not fooling Zaman.
“Just 2 clarify QDK was NOT speaking 2 or pointing at the batsman, he was asking a fielder to back up at the non-striker’s end Not Quinnys fault the batman turned around 2 see instead of completing the run safely which he should have done Stop the hate n Leave QDK alone #Peace,” tweeted Tabraiz Shamsi.
So it's not funny that the batsman stopped running instead of completing the run?
Lets not take the attention away from a great innings that he played and give him credit for that
The batman's job in that instance was to complete the run that all…
As simple as that 🙂
— Tabraiz Shamsi (@shamsi90) April 5, 2021
Meanwhile, if Fakhar Zaman had scored 7 runs more he would have become only the second batsman after Rohit Sharma to score 2 double-centuries in ODI cricket. It wasn’t to be as De Kock was clever and had the presence of mind while Zaman for once lost his concentration in the end. The rule book of ICC also suggests that De Kock may have been wrong and Pakistan could have got 5 extra runs. Nevertheless, the on-field umpires surprisingly didn’t even discuss the incident and Zaman was dismissed as the series is now tied at 1-1.