Home Cricket News The line-up for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 is confirmed

The line-up for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 is confirmed

The 2018 World Cup qualifiers line up have been decided in the final league matches of World Cricket League Division 2 tournament held in Namibia. Nepal and the United Arab Emirates made into the top two positions.

Here’s Full Schedule of ICC Cricket World Cup 2018 qualifiers

In the final league matches today, Nepal took on Canada at Windhoek. It was an amazing match as Canada posted 194 for 8 in 50 overs. Wijerante was the top scorer with 103 not out. In reply, Nepal lost wickets at regular intervals and was struggling at 144 for 9. Karan KC played a cameo knock of 42 runs and put on 51 runs for the final wicket to give Nepal a memorable 1 wicket win. They will play in the qualifiers tournament to be held in Zimbabwe.

The United Arab Emirates defeated Namibia by 19 runs to progress into the qualifiers tournament to be held in Zimbabwe. It was a decent batting effort by UAE batsmen with Shaiman Anwar scoring 77 runs, Muhammad Usman with 59 runs, Ghulam Shabbir with 44 helped UAE to post 247 for 6 in 50 overs.

Chasing the target of 248, Namibia L Louwrens made 43, CG Williams with 54, MG Erasmus the top scorer with 58. Despite Captain SF Burger scoring 21 off 21, the hosts were bowled out for 228 in 49.4 overs.

West Indies, Ireland, Netherlands, PNG, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Scotland, UAE, and Nepal have qualified for the prestigious tournament. In the qualifying tournament, from the league stages, 3 teams from each group will qualify for super six stages. Then the top two teams reaching the finals will progress into World Cup 2019.

Seven teams and hosts England have already qualified directly for ICC World Cup 2019 to be held in England. West Indies looks the favorite but on their day; any team can beat their opponents with their abilities.

The World Cup 2018 qualifiers line up decided

  1. West Indies
  2. Ireland
  3. Zimbabwe ( Hosts)
  4. Afghanistan
  5. Hong Kong
  6. Scotland
  7. Papua New Guinea
  8. Netherlands
  9. United Arab Emirates
  10. Nepal