Cricket NewsIndia vs England 2021

Umesh Yadav Added To India’s Test Squad For 3rd And 4th Test Against England

Senior Team India fast bowler Umesh Yadav has been added to Team India’s Test squad for the third and fourth Test against England. With the series tied at 1-1, the third tie which will be a pink-ball encounter will commence on February 25 at the Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Incidentally, Umesh Yadav suffered an injury during the Tets series against Australia where India scripted history beating the host 2-1. He was ruled out of the entire tour and returned back o the country. Since then, he has worked at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru to work on his fitness and get back to the scheme of things.

Umesh Yadav added to Test squad

Umesh Yadav appeared for a fitness test on Sunday, 21st February at the Motera Stadium. He has cleared his fitness test and has been added to the squad for the last two Tests of the ongoing Paytm India-England Test series.

Meanwhile, Umesh will have to fight out with Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Siraj to make a way into the playing XI. While Ishant and Bumrah played the first match, Siraj replaced Bumrah in the second tie where India recorded a landslide win by 327 runs.

Meanwhile, Shardul Thakur has been released from the squad. He will now join the Mumbai squad to ply his trade in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy.

India will hope to continue the winning run and keep their hopes alive for the ICC World Test Championship. If the hosts manage to win the series by a margin of 2-1 or 3-1, they will set a date with New Zealand in the final scheduled to take place later this year in England.

Also Read

India’s Predicted Playing XI For The 3rd Test Against England

India squad for the last two Tests: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Md. Siraj, Umesh Yadav

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker