Cricket News

Virat Kohli Named Captain Of The Test Team Of The Decade; One More Indian Included

Team India skipper Virat Kohli has been named as the skipper of International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Test team of the decade which was announced on December 27 (Sunday). Along with Kohli, veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is the only other Indian cricketer to make it to legendary XI. Apart from two Indians, the team boasted four English cricketers, two Aussies, and one each from New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and South Africa.

Meanwhile, Virat Kohli made his debut in red-ball cricket in 2011 and took over the reins of the national side from MS Dhoni in 2014. Since then, he has enjoyed a good record in Test cricket winning a couple of bilateral series including the first-ever Border-Gavaskar Trophy Down Under in 2018-19. Moreover, Kohli is the most successful Indian captain in this format in terms of the number of wins (33) under his belt.

Joe Root snubbed from Test team of the decade

Ravichandran Ashwin, who is the other Indian to make it to the list, made his debut in 2011 and since then, has been an integral part of the side. While his abilities have been put under test in overseas conditions, but Ashwin has always proved his critics wrong. So far, he has  2404 runs and 370 wickets from 72 Test matches.

Also Read: MS Dhoni Named Captain Of ICC’s ODI & T20 Team Teams Of The Decade

The team includes 4 Test players from England but captain Joe Root, who is also a part of the Fab Four of the era, has not found a place. Other members of the Fab Four – Kohli, Steve Smith and Kane Williamson have been include in the Test team of the decade. Former English player Alastair Cook along with ace all-rounder Ben Stokes and pace duo of James Anderson and Stuart Broad made it to the playing XI.

Former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara has been named as the wicket-keeper from the side while veteran Proteas pacer Dale Steyn will join Broad and Anderson to complete the pace attack.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the decade:

Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli (capt), Steve Smith, Kumar Sangakkara (wicket-keeper), Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favourite sport.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :