Home Asia Cup 2022 What Happened When India And Pakistan Locked Horns In 2018 Asia Cup?

What Happened When India And Pakistan Locked Horns In 2018 Asia Cup?

India vs Pakistan
Photo: Getty Images

The Asia Cup 2022 tournament is all set to kick off on August 27 in the United Arab Emirates. Team India has been a dominant force in the tournament since its inaugural edition in 1984. They won the most recent 2018 Asia Cup defeating Bangladesh in the finals by three wickets at the Dubai International Stadium. This marked their seventh Asia Cup title in 14 editions.

The defending champions will begin their campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday, August 28 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Pakistan has won the title a couple of times, in 2000 and in 2012 in Bangladesh. They have played against India several times at the Asia Cup tournament, winning five out of those 14 encounters.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2022: India’s Full Schedule, Squads, Match Timings And Live Streaming Details

The two countries have an interesting history on and off the field. The clash between the arch-rivals always promises to be an enthralling contest. In this article, we take a look at what happened when India and Pakistan locked horns in the 2018 Asia Cup.

What happened when India and Pakistan locked horns in the 2018 Asia Cup?

India took on Pakistan in their second match of the Super 12 stages at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. They were coming on the back of a comprehensive win against Bangladesh, while Pakistan had also won their previous encounter against Afghanistan.

Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed won the toss and elected to bat first. Imam-ul-Haq and Fakhar Zaman opened the innings for Pakistan. As the duo tried to get settled at the crease, Yuzvendra Chahal struck the first blow as he dismissed Imam-ul-Haq. Pakistan suffered a mini-collapse and was reeling at 58/3. However, skipper Sarfaraz got together with Shoaib Malik to bail them out of trouble.

Pakistan managed to put on 237 runs on the board in the first innings. Sarfaraz Ahmed scored 44 runs, while Shoaib Malik slammed a 90-ball 78, including four boundaries and two sixes. On the other hand, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kuldeep Yadav picked a couple of wickets each for Pakistan.

In response, the Pakistan bowlers could not manage the wrath of the Indian batters. The Indian team chased down the target comfortably with nine wickets to spare. Openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan both slammed centuries to power India’s win. Rohit scored an unbeaten 111, while Dhawan won the Player of the Match for his 100-ball 114 runs knock.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.