Home Asia Cup 2022 Rishabh Pant, Deepak Chahar’s Argument Over VVS Laxman’s ‘Six’ Decision

[Watch] Rishabh Pant, Deepak Chahar’s Argument Over VVS Laxman’s ‘Six’ Decision

Deepak Chahar and Rishabh Pant
Photo: Video/Vimal Kumar's You Tube Channel

Team India’s preparations are in full swing for the Asia Cup 2022 tournament. They will be taking on arch-rivals Pakistan in their opening match on Sunday, August 28 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Ahead of the high-octane clash, the Indian team hit the nets on Wednesday to get in the groove. The net sessions witnessed an argument between Deepak Chahar and Rishabh Pant on the ground.

Journalist Vimal Kumar, who is covering the Asia Cup 2022 tournament, shared a video on his Youtube Channel from India’s training session. The likes of KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, and other players toiled hard in the nets. In a snippet from the video, Rishabh Pant smashed Deepak Chahar for a massive hit over the mid-wicket region.

VVS Laxman who stood as the umpire signaled it a six. However, Deepak Chahar was not happy with the decision and expressed that the ball would have gone straight to deep mid-wicket. The all-rounder also engaged in some banter with Rishabh Pant as the duo walked out of the nets.

Watch the video here:

VVS Laxman to be India’s interim coach for Asia Cup 2022

Team India’s head coach Rahul Dravid tested positive for the Covid-19 virus ahead of the Asia Cup 2022 tournament. In his absence, VVS Laxman took up the coaching role for India. Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant is making his comeback to the team as he was rested for the recently concluded Zimbabwe tour. All-rounder Deepak Chahar is not part of the Asia Cup 2022 squad. He has been kept as a standby for the tournament.

India’s squad for 2022 Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Standbys: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.