Cricket NewsIPL

Who’s Riley Meredith? Punjab Kings’s New Found Fast Bowler For IPL 2021

Meredith can be an ideal partner for Mohammed Shami bowling from one end.

Uncapped Australian pacer Riley Meredith was roped in by Punjab Kings at 8 crores in the IPL 2021 player auction held in Chennai on Thursday. Meredith adds much to the Kings outfit after they released the entire side looking to revamp the side for the season. The Australian pacer has raw pace something which will be ao every good component required in the Punjab camp. Meredith can be an ideal partner for Mohammed Shami bowling from one end.

Riley played for the Hobart Hurricanes in the recently concluded BBL season. He gave a glimpse o his raw pace in the tournament by clocking deliveries over 150 kmph. He also breached the defences of Shaun Marsh with one of the fastest deliveries bowled in the season.

Riley Meredith Goes Through Shaun Marsh’s Defense

Also Read: 5 Expensive Buys From IPL 2021 Auction

He picked up 16 wickets from 13 games in the recent season. He made his BBL debut in season 7 and has been playing for the Hurricanes eversince. Overall, he has 43 wickets from 34 games at an economy of 8.06 and a strike rate of 17.60.

The uncapped Australian pacer enrolled into the auction at a base price of 40lakhs. However, it picked up real pace with several franchisees looking to go big on him. Ultimately it was the Kings who roped him in for 8 crores. hough Delhi Capitals and Punjab Kings engaged in an intense bidding war, the Australian youngster was eventually signed by the Rahul-led side.

Meredith has played 34 games for the Hurricanes and the lethal fast bowler has bagged 43 wickets with an incredible average of 23.60 along with a noteworthy economy rate of 8.06. The Australian pacer attracted the highest bid for an overseas uncapped player at the IPL 2021 auction. Meredith made his professional debut when he represented Cricket Australia XI against Pakistan in 2017.

Punjab Kings Full Squad For IPL 2021

KL Rahul (C), Dawid Malan, Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Prabsimran Singh, Nicholas Pooran (WK), Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Harpreet Brar, Moises Henriques, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Darshan Nalkande, Chris Jordan, Jhye Richardson, Shahrukh Khan, Riley Meredith, Jalaj Saxena, Utkarsh Singh, Saurabh Kumar, Fabian Allen

Also Read: IPL 2021: Complete Squads Of All Eight Franchises


Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker