Home Cricket News 10-Team IPL Gets BCCI’s Approval After AGM Meeting in Ahmedabad

10-Team IPL Gets BCCI’s Approval After AGM Meeting in Ahmedabad

10-Team IPL Gets BCCI’s Approval After AGM Meeting in Ahmedabad
Photo Credit: (IPL)

One of the big results from a serious discussion in the BCCI AGM meeting in Ahmedabad on December 24 was the approval of 10-Team IPL. It will come into effect from 2022. The IPL Governing Council has been asked to work out the details for the process of inclusion of the teams and the structure thereafter in the meantime. There was a lot of thought put in place behind the expansion of the IPL and now it looks finally possible.

The 10-team IPL was also given the green signal by former Indian skipper Rahul Dravid who claimed it to be the first step of expansion of the IPL. Previously, four new teams have been a part of the IPL. Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala was a part for just two years in IPL 2011 and 2012. Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants came in while CSK and RR were exiled from the IPL for two years on charges of corruption.

Also Read: BCCI Adds 3 Members To Selection Committee; New Chairman Named

10-Team IPL Gets BCCI’s Approval

Meanwhile, Sourav Ganguly, the BCCI President, has been nominated as BCCI’s director in the ICC, whileJay Shah, the BCCI secretary, has been chosen as the alternative director. Shah will continue to also serve as the BCCI representative in the ICC Chief Executive Committee.

Another important point of discussion was the start of domestic cricket in India. The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be played from January 10 to 31. Domestic junior cricket and women’s cricket could take place alongside the upcoming edition of the IPL. So far, the men’s domestic T20 over tournament is the only cricket scheduled for the season.

Also Read: Jay Shah XI Beats Sourav Ganguly XI In A Friendly Match In Motera Stadium

Former Indian cricketer Chetan Sharma was selected as the Chairman of BCCI’s Selection Committee by the Cricket Advisory Committee members Madan Lal, RP Singh and MS Sulakshana Naik.

Latest Posts