Home Cricket News BCCI announces squad for the upcoming Sri Lanka series, new captain named

BCCI announces squad for the upcoming Sri Lanka series, new captain named

India Series win
India won the decider by seven runs. Photo Credit: (Twitter/BCCI)

The All-India Senior Selection Committee picked the Indian squad for the 3-match ODI series and the 3-match T20I series against Sri Lanka scheduled in the month of July. All matches will be played at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo.

The three-match ODI series will commence on July 13 followed by July 16 and 18. On the other hand, the T20I series will commence on July 21 while the second and third T20Is will take place on July 23 and 25th to put curtains on the tour.

Shikhar Dhawan appointed captain for Sri Lanka tour

Veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan will lead the side in the absence of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be his deputy.

Karnataka opener Devdutt Padikkal, who has been in rollicking form in white-ball cricket in the domestic circuit as well as the IPL, has been drafted in. Maharashtra and CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad has also made the cut. Prithvi Shaw has also made a return to the national side following his rich form in the Vijay Hazare Trophy where he scored 827 runs to lead his side to the title.

Rajasthan Royals fast bowler Chetan Sakariya, who impressed during in the domestic tournaments leading to IPL 2021 has also awarded a place in the national side. The fast bowler from Saurashtra grabbed a lot of attention for picking some big wickets. Deepak Chahar and Navdeep Saini will also lead a four-man pace attack alongside Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

On the other hand, Yuzvendra Chahal has retained his place while Kuldeep Yadav has been given another opportunity to make a mark ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup. Krishanappa Gowtham and Rahul Chahar have also been picked in the squad.

Five net bowlers will also travel with the entire Indian contingent to Sri Lanka.

India’s squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh