Home WPL 2023 Beth Mooney To Lead Gujarat Giants In 2023 Women’s Premier League

Beth Mooney To Lead Gujarat Giants In 2023 Women’s Premier League

Beth Mooney To Lead Gujarat Giants In 2023 Women’s Premier League
Photo: Twitter

Australian batter Beth Mooney will be leading the Gujarat Giants in the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League in 2023. The franchise took to social media to announce their skipper for the upcoming season. The tournament kicks off on March 4 with the Giants taking on the Mumbai Indians at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

Beth Mooney has led on a few occasions in the Women’s Big Bash. However, this will be her first full-time leadership tenure in an overseas T20 league. Indian cricketer Sneh Rana will be Mooney’s deputy for the tournament. The Gujarat Giants took to social media to reveal their skipper in an interesting post. They provided several clues in the post for the fans to find out about the captain. Gujarat Giants wrote,

“Who will lead our pack of giants this season? 🤔Keep your eyes peeled, as we’re about to unveil the captain who’s going to take us to new heights! 💪🏼”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Gujarat Giants (@gujaratgiants)

Delighted to be given the opportunity to lead Adani Gujarat Giants: Beth Mooney

Beth Mooney will reunite with Rachael Haynes, her former team-mate, who is the head coach of the Gujarat Giants. Their support staff also includes Nooshin Al Khadeer as bowling coach and Tushar Arothe as batting coach. Gavan Twining is the fielding coach at the Giants, Meanwhile, Mithali Raj is the mentor and advisor of the franchise.

In a statement, the Gujarat Giants skipper said, as quoted by Espncricinfo,

“I am delighted to be given the opportunity to lead the Adani Gujarat Giants in the historic Women’s Premier League’s inaugural edition in 2023. The squad is keen to get the ball rolling soon and put out an entertaining and effective brand of cricket in the debut season of the WPL. It will be fantastic to have the likes of Sneh as my deputy and Mithali Raj, Rachael Haynes, and Nooshin Al Khadeer as pivotal parts of the team.”

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts