Home BBL Big Bash League 2020-21: Take A Look At All The New Rules For BBL 2020-21

Big Bash League 2020-21: Take A Look At All The New Rules For BBL 2020-21

Big Bash League 2020-21: Take A Look At All The New Rules For BBL 2020-21
Credit: Getty Images

The 10th edition of the Big Bash League is all set to get underway today. The Hobart Hurricanes will face the defending champions Sydney Sixers in the season opener. As always the BBL this year is once again expected to be different from the rest of the T20 leagues all around the world. The BBL this year has announced three new rules which are all set to increase the entertainment of all the cricket fans.

Thew new innovation that will take centre stage in BBL 2020-21 is Power Surge, X-Factor, Bash Boost. The idea behind creating these new rules is to have action-packed cricket action for the entire 40 overs of the match. BBL has never been afraid to think out of the box and these three new rules are certainly going to make the league very interesting.

Here are the 3 new rules for BBL 2020-21:

X-Factor: After the completion of 10 overs both teams can drastically change their strategies and choose to substitute a player of their squad from their X-factor players. A team will announce their 12th and 13th player of the side before the match which will be their X-factor players. A captain can substitute any player from their squad after the completion of 10 overs and bring in one of the X- factor players in the match. The condition to this is that the player who is being substituted should not have had a major impact on the match (hasn’t batted or bowled many overs).

Also Read: Cricket Australia Announces Revised Schedule For BBL 2020-21

Power Surge: The ‘Power surge’ is basically a two over mini powerplay which the batting side can choose from the 11th over. The fielding side much like the first batting powerplay will only be allowed two players outside the inner fielding circle for 2 more overs. The first batting powerplay in the BBL will only be of 4 overs and teams can choose power surge of 2 overs from 11th over onwards.

Bash Boost: If the chasing team is ahead of where the side batting first was after 10 overs they will be given a bonus point which is tagged as Bash Boost. The team chasing will receive the bonus point if they’re above the equivalent 10-over score of their opposition, while if they’re trailing, the fielding side will get the point.

Also Read: Tom Banton Opts Out From BBL Due To Bubble Fatigue


Latest Posts