Home Cricket News IPL 2020: Big Names Miss Out From Brad Hogg’s Best IPL XI

IPL 2020: Big Names Miss Out From Brad Hogg’s Best IPL XI

Brad Hogg IPL 2021
Brad Hogg. (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Former Australian spinner Brad Hogg in his recent Youtube video has picked his best XI from this IPL season. He has not included some the big names in his team which includes names like KL Rahul and Virat Kohli. The league phase of the tournament got over with the game between SRH and Mumbai Indians.

SRH thumped MI by 10 wickets to get into the playoffs. The knockout phase starts with the first qualifier between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals in Dubai.

Meanwhile, speaking on his YouTube video, Brad Hogg revealed his choices. He chose Shikhar Dhawan and Mayank Agarwal as his openers. In the process, he also maintained a left-right combination for the opening pair.

First up off the bat is Shikhar Dhawan. What a wonderful series he is having this year. He has got a strike-rate of over 146 and a great average of 47 and he has got a couple of centuries as well. Opening the batting with him is Mayank Agarwal.

I just love the way that he has played for Kings XI Punjab. If it wasn’t for him, they would have not been even close to getting to the playoffs. He was dynamite opening the batting for them,” said Hogg to start his video.

Brad Hogg’s Best IPL XI

He then picked a strong middle-order including names like Suryakumar Yadav, AB De Villiers, Hardik Pandya and Eoin Morgan. He added a lot of muscle to the order with plenty of big hitters. He was also very flexible in his selection given that AB, Morgan and Pandya can all play and bat according to the match situation.

Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal were his specialist spinners. Together, the two of them picked up 39 wickets in the tournament.

Jasprit Bumrah, Jofra Archer and Mohammed Shami were his pacers in the lineup. The trio picked up a total of 65 wickets with Bumrah having an opportunity to add to his tally.

Brad Hogg’s best XI of IPL 2020 league stage

Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Suryakumar Yadav, AB de Villiers, Eoin Morgan, Hardik Pandya, Jofra Archer, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Also Read: Happy Birthday Virat Kohli: A Tribute To The Indian Captain