Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Dinesh Karthik Picks The Favourites Of The...

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Dinesh Karthik Picks The Favourites Of The Marquee Tournament

Dinesh Karthik

As the buzz surrounding the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 kicks off, veteran wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik has picked the favorites of the marquee competition. Meanwhile, on Tuesday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) released the full schedule of the tournament set to take place in the UAE and Oman, starting October 17.

Already, experts and critics have begun to pick their favorites for the global event with Brad Hogg picking India and England and Herschelle Gibbs picking Pakistan, England, and India as the favorites to win the T20 World Cup. Dinesh Karthik recently joined the bandwagon and vouched for an India-West Indies final.

Speaking for former cricketer and presenter, Karthik said:

“I would love to see India and West indies final. I think my second favorite team after India would definitely be West Indies, only for the way they play cricket. I think this format, they love it, it brings out their best in them and I would love to see West Indies in the final. Whether I want them to win it that will depend on the opponent that day.”

When asked to former West Indies skipper Darren Sammy, the all-rounder backed the Caribbeans to defend the title.

“It’s a no-brainer for me, West Indies,” Sammy said.  

India to play Pakistan on October 24 in Dubai

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE and Oman will get underway from 17 October, with the Final to be played in Dubai on 14 November. The heavyweight clash between India and Pakistan will commence Group 2 fixtures on October 24 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021: Complete Schedule Of Team India

The first semi-final will be held in Abu Dhabi on 10 November. The second semi-final will be hosted by Dubai on 11 November. Both semi-finals have reserve days. The marquee clash of the tournament will take place in Dubai on 14 November, Sunday, with Monday acting as the reserve day for the final.