Home Cricket News India To Host Australia, South Africa For T20I Series Before The ICC...

India To Host Australia, South Africa For T20I Series Before The ICC T20 World 2022, Confirms Sourav Ganguly

Team India BCCI
Indian cricket team (Photo: BCCI)

The Indian team is all set to host South Africa and Australia for a three-match T20I series each before the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, which kicks off on October 16 in Australia this year. These matches will boost India’s preparations for the mega-event. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Sourav Ganguly confirmed the announcement of the home series.

On Thursday evening, in the BCCI’s Apex Council meeting, a number of decisions were taken by the officials, regarding the international and domestic calendar. The T20I matches against South Africa will take place at Trivandrum, Guwahati, and Indore. India will also play three ODIs against the Proteas. Meanwhile, Mohali, Nagpur, and Hyderabad will host the T20I series against Australia.

“We will host SA and Australia for three T20Is each before going for the T20 World Cup. South Africa will come to India after concluding their ongoing England tour (in September). All those venues which didn’t get to stage a game against SA- Ranchi, Nagpur, Hyderabad, Lucknow, Indore, Mohali- will host T20Is against SA and Australia,” Sourav Ganguly said.

India recently hosted South Africa for a five-match T20I series in June. They began the series well winning the first two games, to take a 2-0 lead. However, the Proteas bounced back well to equal the series at 2-2 after the first four matches. The decider at Bangalore was washed out due to rain, as a result, the series ended in a draw.

India’s hectic 2022 International schedule

The Indian team will be playing a three-match ODI series followed by five T20Is against West Indies, starting on July 22. They will also play three ODIs against Zimbabwe before the ICC T20 World Cup. Post the World Cup, India will travel to New Zealand for a limited-overs series and then play two Tests and three ODIs against Bangladesh.

The Indian team will return back home to play four tests against Australia in January-February. Meanwhile, the Asia Cup has been shifted to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) amidst the crisis in Sri Lanka. It will now start from August 27 to September 11.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.