Home Cricket News IPL 2020: Sunil Gavaskar Picks His Mumbai Indians Playing XI

IPL 2020: Sunil Gavaskar Picks His Mumbai Indians Playing XI

IPL 2020: Sunil Gavaskar Picks His Mumbai Indians Playing XI
Sunil Gavaskar. (Photo Credit: BCCI)

Ahead of their IPL 2020 campaign opener against Chennai Super Kings, former Indian skipper Sunil Gavaskar has picked his Mumbai Indians playing XI. He further said that Mumbai should look to the field after winning the toss to negate the chances of CSK’s good history in chasing.

Sunil Gavaskar has picked Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav as openers followed by Quinton de Kock and Ishan Kishan at three and four.

The former Indian skipper has picked Ishan Kishan to bat at number four, followed by Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, and Krunal Pandya to bat at 5, 6 and 7. This makes the Mumbai Indians middle-order one of the strongest in the tournament.

Also Read: Sanjay Manjrekar Reacts On Being Axed From IPL 2020 Commentary Team

Gavaskar has gone with Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar as the two specialist Indian bowlers in the line-up. He has kept Trent Boult, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Mitchell McClenaghan as his overseas picks to complete a strong playing XI for the defending champions.

The former Indian skipper has pointed out a major problem for Mumbai Indians heading into the tournament. He said that the lack of experienced spinners in the line-up might cause problems for the Rohit Sharma led-side.

“Yes, you can say that because they do not have the experienced spinners that other sides have,” Sunil Gavaskar told Sports Tak.

MI’s Middle Order Concern

Sunil Gavaskar also suggested that the Mumbai Indians might be pondering about whom to play in the middle-order given that they have too many options.

“The other thing that can be a weakness is middle order. They will have to think who will bat at No.4 and No.5 position. If Quinton de Kock plays, then he will open with either Rohit Sharma or Suryakumar Yadav,” Gavaskar said.

“Ishan Kishan might come in at No.4, he can also open the innings. Kieron Pollard can come in at No.5. Maybe Hardik Pandya can be promoted to No.4. But if that doesn’t happen then who will play at No.4″ Gavaskar further added.

Playing XI for Mumbai Indians of Sunil Gavaskar

Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult/Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah.

Also Read: IPL 2020 Team of Commentators


Latest Posts